Alex Vollmer – 2017 Rhodes Award Recipient

Frank H. T. Rhodes Exemplary Alumni Service Award

Congratulations to the Class of 1962 2017 Recipient!
 Alex Boone Vollmer ’62, MS ‘65

Class of 1962 Recipients Prior to 2017!
 Stephen B. Ashley
 Nancy Clark
 Ruth Bleyler
 Sam Fleming
 Nancy Meinig

The 9th president of Cornell University, Frank H. T. Rhodes is one of the most
beloved and respected administrators in Cornell’s history. An international
advocate for education and research, he has played a significant role in the
development of national science policy under several U.S. presidents. As
Cornell’s president, he established initiatives that continue to shape the university
today, including Asian studies, supercomputing, biotechnology, and
nanofabrication. Be inspired! Watch the Library Reunion Lecture – Ezra’s
Unreasonable Vision, featuring President Emeritus Frank H. T. Rhodes and Carl
A. Kroch University Librarian Anne Kenney.
A Prestigious Honor
The Cornell Alumni Association, with the endorsement of the Board of Trustees’
Subcommittee on Alumni Affairs, established the Frank H. T. Rhodes Exemplary
Alumni Service Award in the spring of 1994. An eloquent national spokesman for
the importance of higher education, President Rhodes inspired alumni of all ages
as well as an entire generation of Cornell students to continue their life after
Cornell as dedicated Cornellians.
The Frank H. T. Rhodes Exemplary Alumni Service Award honors alumni who
have demonstrated extraordinary service to Cornell through long-term volunteer
activities within the broad spectrum of Cornell’s various alumni organizations.
Such service may be reflected in the leadership roles that the individual has
assumed, or through the unique contributions made by the individual as a part of
his or her service to Cornell. Consideration is given to the length and depth of the
individual’s activities; however, gifts are not among the criteria used to select
honorees. University trustees are not eligible for consideration until they are no
longer active members of the board. A maximum of six awards may be presented